At wit’s end.

I wasn’t pleased with the last installment of the Pirates of the Caribbean movie franchise, At World’s End. I found the plot to be arcane and confusing. I recently watched it again on DVD, and liked it better the second time. Like homework, some movies get better with a little studying. Seriously, the Captain Jack hallucinations and the Brethren Court were very good.

Anyway, the booklet that came with the DVD has a panel detailing “Top Questions Moviegoers Had” about the flick. Nine plot questions are listed here such as, “Why did Calypso explode into crabs?”

Have you ever seen this kind of explanation before? An admission that many people who saw the movie didn’t have a clue as to what the heck was going on? Weird.

In 1968 I picked up a flyer the first time I saw 2001: A Space Odyssey that explained how a man could survive in two minutes of vacuum. Evidently that was a sticking point for moviegoers. (Like the rest of that movie made sense, right?)

One Response to At wit’s end.

  1. Bpaul says:

    “In 1968 I picked up a flyer the first time I saw 2001: A Space Odyssey that explained how a man could survive in two minutes of vacuum. Evidently that was a sticking point for moviegoers. (Like the rest of that movie made sense, right?)”

    I’m so glad I wasn’t drinking tea when I read this, I would have sprayed it all over my computer.

    Awesome.

Leave a Reply

