Why can’t they do that?

I don’t want to sound like the people who say, “We put a man on the moon, why can’t we cure the common cold?” I realize that technological prowess in one area doesn’t apply to other areas. However, we have shot the moon with a laser, hit an asteroid with a satellite, flew a machine through Saturn’s rings, and yes, put a man on the moon.

Why can’t we figure out where a broken spy satellite is going to land? Is it because the thing is coming apart? I know they usually hit water or an unpopulated area, but I swear someday some poor fucker is going to come out of Starbucks and get nailed by a ten-ton piece of space junk.

I guess I should be happy when I read “U.S. downplays threat” in any context. That’s pretty unusual these days.

4 Responses to Why can’t they do that?

  1. Beanie says:

    but I swear someday some poor fucker is going to come out of Starbucks and get nailed by a ten-ton piece of space junk.

    Wasn’t that how Maggie’s old boyfriend died on Northern Exposure?

    Seriously. I think it’s been done.

    Ooo. And the chick from Dead Like Me (still my fave series ever) was killed by a falling toilet seat from the space station.

    I think you’ll have a tough time selling it to the studios …

    Although from the “US downplays threat” angle, it might be a perfect way to re-purpose the war on terror … it’s now a “war on wayward space junk”.

    I like it.

  2. Jason says:

    I’m pretty sure it happened to Kenny on South Park once, too. I think it was Mir that fell on him, as a matter of fact.

  3. Enrique says:

    I say that those who support Starbucks deserve such a demise.

  4. Jason says:

    Not related to this post, but are you doing Trivia this weekend? I haven’t heard from you on the boards and we’re testing our new Q&A system tonight starting at 6:30 Central. Hop on AIM if you get the chance.

Leave a Reply

