I have obsolete skills.

I bet you do too! I even spent 13 years in a career that is completely obsolete. Here’s a highly-detailed list, and a few examples of my obsolete skills.

  • Adjusting a television’s color and hue.
  • Bust apart a long computer printout.
  • Calculating THAC0.
  • Editing AUTOEXEC.BAT and CONFIG.SYS.
  • Jumpers on a motherboard.
  • Knowing what part of town someone lives in by their phone exchange.
  • Typesetting.
  • Using an 8mm film projector.
  • Using a flash bulb or flash cube.
  • Using paper tape for programming.
  • Using a slide rule.
  • Using a typewriter.

Actually the linked list is pretty crappy and needs a lot of editing. That could be another of my obsolete skills, wanting to edit things nobody else gives a shit about.

3 Responses to I have obsolete skills.

  1. Bpaul says:

    I’ll admit it, I’m afraid to look.

  2. Major Rakal says:

    I agree that the list needs a lot of editing — lots of typos, duplication, and crappy grammar; and it’s hard to see how “cuff links” or “having your gas pumped for you” can possibly be considered skills, obsolete or otherwise (it appears that basic reading comprehension skills on the part of contributors is also obsolete).

    Nevertheless, I must admit to sharing many of your obsolete skills, and noted a number of others that I possess, including reading a Vernier scale, loading data from a cassette tape, and building an AppleTalk network using PhoneNet. I would also add operating a keypunch machine, which is not on the list as such (though several items referred to specific details of using punchcards and machines).

  3. Kathy says:

    I dispute the obsolescence of several of those items! I still manually adjust color/hue on televisions and monitors when I’m not happy with it, as well as brightness and contrast. I also think there’s still a market for skills relating to older/more homebrewed/less GUI-ed computer equipment, as a lot of industries and the government still hang onto outdated equipment as though they have a sentimental attachment to it.

Leave a Reply

