Hell freezes over.

I gave up. I’m tired of not being able to play the games made by the company I work for. Boot Camp is a half-assed solution to the problem, and I hate poisoning my Mac with Windows software. Last night, after some considerable frustrations, we bought two HP Pavilion Vista laptops.

Here are my first impressions of the difference between Vista and Leopard. Imagine, if you will, you are an office manager who has just hired an employee to help you with IT issues. I’ll provide two examples of how this might go, with two different employees. The task is this: We just bought a new printer. Get it up and running on our office network.

We’ll call the first one “Bill.” You tell him, “There’s the box. Open that thing up and get it running, please.”

Bill: I’m getting the box knife. Is it okay if I get the box knife? You’re gonna have to tell me if I can get the box knife. I’m going to open the box now. Is it okay if I open the box now?

Bill’s Friend Norton: THERE COULD BE FATAL DAMAGE TO BILL IF HE USES THAT BOX KNIFE. TRY TO FIND A BUTTON TO IGNORE THIS MESSAGE.

Bill: I opened the printer box. Is it okay if I take the printer out of the box? I need to know.

This goes on for about an hour, and eventually Bill tells you he doesn’t know how to install the printer, you’ll have to find that out from somebody else.

In our second example, we have another employee named “Steve.” You assign him the same task and he comes back in about ten minutes.

Steve: Let me show you the network printer settings. Yes, that’s it. Click that button. You’re good to go.

I don’t know about you, but I think if the world had more Steves and fewer Bills that people would get a lot more done with their work day.

5 Responses to Hell freezes over.

  1. George Haberberger says:

    What about Parallels? I don’t have it, but you’re supposed to be able to switch between the Mac OS and Windows without rebooting. It’s not free like Boot Camp, ( it costs, 80 bucks), but that’s got to be cheaper than buying a Windows machine.

    Great analogy btw.

  2. Kathy says:

    That would all be really apt if I’d ever plugged anything into my Windows computers and had it not work right away. Honestly, I don’t know what you’re attaching to those new laptops, but I’ve put all kinds of various and sundry hardware devices onto any number of Windows-based computers of all different configurations, and I pretty much just wait for the balloon in the status bar to tell me it’s installed and ready to use. And I use some esoteric, weird stuff at times.

    Although I agree that Vista takes the whole permissions thing too far at times. I’m sure there’s a way to turn it off, but as it’s not my computer, but Tom’s, that has Vista installed on it, I haven’t had enough reason to find the control panel that has the “shhhh” button on it.

  3. TMac says:

    I love Macs but Vista isn’t quite that bad. The permissions thing is stupid. We haven’t had to install a single driver and we’ve connected a printer, iPod shuffle, wireless keyboard, camera, and synced it with the Xbox 360.

    Now I have had to install drivers and look them up and Windows is much worse than OSX but I haven’t had that problem with our Vista machine.

  4. Shocho says:

    Specifically, I was trying to get my HP Pavilion laptop to find my HP Photosmart All-In-One printer on my network (which the laptop was already connected to). There was no appropriate driver available and it was too stupid to figure out what to do. I had to go to the HP website and download a driver (Old School!). If you’ve had better luck with Plug ‘N’ Play, more power to ya, but it barked at me like a junkyard dog. I’m just spoiled because shit works so good in Cupertino Land. We’re weathering the storm that is downloading, patching, installing, and configuring, but after a few days of this, I expect to playing some games on this thing.

  5. TMac says:

    Yeah I got nothing for you other than you shouldn’t have bought a PC to begin with :) Stick with the stuff from the fruit stand, they work much better.

Leave a Reply

