News from the future.

It’s 1978. I’m 24 years old. I’ve seen Star Wars 6 times in the theater. I’ve seen the previews for the new show Battlestar Galactica. I’ve watched a few episodes, and I just hate it. I’m watching what will be the last episode I ever see of this series. I’m cursing Boxey and the Daggit and Pa Adama. We call it Cattlecar Fantastica.

There’s a knock at the door, and when I answer, I see someone in silver lame quasi-futuristic clothing. He looks like my dad, sort of. He says he’s “Future Me.” I laugh and scoff, but then he takes me aside to another room and closes the door. He asks me a question that only I know the answer to. Something I’ve never told anyone in my life. Now I know it’s really me from the future.

He tells me that the show I’ve been watching will be remade as a “reimagining” of the series. It will have wonderful writing, fascinating characters, and better special effects than Star Wars. It will be my favorite television show, ever.

I just stare at him for a few moments. Then I tell him he’s full of shit.

4 Responses to News from the future.

  1. erika says:

    I like these stories about the past. More like this, please!

  2. Girard says:

    You have a secret that you’ve never told anyone?

    Is the 24 yr old Chuck just as sarcastic as the Future Chuck?

    You didn’t warn him about Episode I/II/III?

  3. Jason says:

    Yes, but when are you going to get the visit from 84-year-old Chuck telling you that they’ve just started showing season 5 of BSG?

  4. Enrique says:

    If my future self ever visits me, I better come with stock tips or else I’m going to start smoking and give him lung cancer!

Leave a Reply

