The Scene.

It’s true, I’m Too Old. Unable to figure out what “emo” means, I find that it’s being replaced with “The Scene.” I feel like USAToday, always a day late and a dollar short.

Just as parents get their heads around the emo phenomenon – code for “emotional” – along comes another subcultural movement with its own fashion and music signifiers.

I’m not sure I’m ready to make this sacrifice to join the Newest Trend:

  • Scene kids should listen to “Conway Twitty”, “Jimmy Buffet”, “Harry Chapin” and “Brook Benton”
5 Responses to The Scene.

  1. Beanie says:

    I’m rather disturbed that when I mouse over your link for “The Scene” I get instructions for how to sew a belly-dancing skirt.

    But that’s not why we’re here.

    I am pleased that I can drag out that box containing all the totally lame stuff I wore in the 80’s and once again be in style. (What did you say? Of course it still fits. Shut up.)

    Conway Twitty? I think some sadistic adult put that in the listing on purpose.

    I think I lurve that person.

    Maybelline Liqui-gel Eye Liner? Check. (Please. You ask that like I ever stopped wearing it.)

    Note to self: Must take mosh lessons. “Scene girls should mosh.”

  2. Bpaul says:

    I appreciate these cultural reports — soon I’ll be interacting with these persons and will need to know what the hell is going on LOL

  3. Kindralas says:

    This is just emo by a different name.

    Emo, by the way, doesn’t technically stand for “emotional,” it stands for “emocore,” in reference to the particular brand of pop punk which tends more toward the personal and less toward the political. The poster boys of this, naturally, are Fall Out Boy, but other bands have pushed the movement, like Panic at the Disco (with or without the exclamation point) and Paramore.

    Really, it’s just grunge rock for the 00’s. Except with lamer music.

  4. James Maddux says:

    I think it’s just the pattern of humanity. We need something that our kids can make fun of us for. Haha.

  5. Hola soy Claudia de 7 años. Busco por la red las pelis de Barbie gratis para verlas online. Soy fanatica de Barbie Princesa de la Isla, llegue a vuestro blog buscando peliculas de barbie :P y nada… por favor que no tenga pelis para adultos porque mis abuelos me dejan sin internet!!! Graciass!!

Leave a Reply

