Apple makes me mad.

On my Vista machines, every time I do an Apple Software Update, it wants me to install Safari. I don’t have Safari on my Vista machines, and I don’t want it. It’s not an “update” when they try to get me to install a program I don’t already have.

On my Mac machines, I can’t get rid of the .Mac icon at the top. I had a temporary .Mac subscription, but I found it to be lacking. I don’t want a .Mac subscription, but there’s a damned little icon in the menu bar of every Mac I have like a tiny little Steve Jobs head saying “Buy this!” in a squeaky voice like the guy at the end of The Fly (the original one).

3 Responses to Apple makes me mad.

  1. Kathy says:

    Ugh, advertising gets us everywhere, for everything. And yes, it’s still advertising even if it’s free, like Safari, because they want you for market share, and therefore, power. Power is as good as money for lots of companies.

    It’s funny how taking away our ability to politely say, “No, thank you,” can be so infuriating. Wait, not funny. Anger-inducing. That’s what I meant.

  2. Jason says:

    And people say Macs are so different from PCs…

  3. Kindralas says:

    Really, what you want is stuff that’s free, and without advertising.

    May I suggest The Slip?

Leave a Reply

