D&D dragged into the mud.

From a blog on the website that belongs to White-Haired Dude, I offer this quote:

It may be typical of the pro-Obama Dungeons & Dragons crowd to disparage a fellow countryman’s memory of war from the comfort of mom’s basement, but most Americans have the humility and gratitude to respect and learn from the memories of men who suffered on behalf of others.

Where the heck did that come from? Does Barack roll the twenty-sided die? This is news to me. Lord Gygax, forgive them, for they know not of what they speak.

8 Responses to D&D dragged into the mud.

  1. Kindralas says:

    I’ll fit that stereotype, I’m not grateful that McCain was imprisoned by the Vietnamese. I’m not grateful that he pissed in a pole, or whatever. I’m grateful for the millions of soldiers who never got the opportunity to do any of that. I’m grateful for the thousands who gave their lives in front of McCain so that he didn’t have to. And considering he’s now old, rich, white and male, I don’t think he really deserves any more of our sympathy for it. To paraphrase Bill Hicks, I’m sure there’s a shelf life on this somewhere.

    Everyone seems to equate “POW” with “unspeakable horror.” Let me ask you this: If McCain undertook a Herculean effort simply to survive in that horrific hellhole, why is he publicizing it like it was no big deal? “Yeah, I did the whole POW thing back in the day, sure.” I imagine he spent his days eating dog, pissing in his pole, and telling stories with his fellow inmates. Is it a position I want to be in? Certainly not. But I’d imagine if he were tortured, he wouldn’t go around bragging about the fact that he’s been a POW.

    Most veterans I’ve talked to are reluctant to tell stories of the wars they’ve been in. Now granted, McCain is in a position where he has to get accustomed to telling those stories, but still, he seems to enjoy getting on his war veteran high horse a little too much to have been seriously affected by his time in that camp.

    Apparently he brings up the POW ordeal in order to prove he’s a better foreign policy candidate for Obama, and the truly sad thing is that America, on the whole, is buying it. It’s disturbing to me that the United States can get involved in not one, but two poorly planned and executed wars (heck if you go back far enough, there’s 2 more back there), sow seeds of discontent with all of our allies around the world, and yet, when confronted with the options of another warmonger and someone who at least plays some lip service to peace, everyone assumes the warmonger has more credentials.

    I’m sorry, it’s true Obama’s all talk, but given the last eight years, I think some talking’s exactly what we need right now.

  2. Shocho says:

    I was totally going to go there about McCain. How does getting captured make you a war hero? But I did some research and found out that he did fly about 30 combat missions into hostile territory. That’s a distinguished service record. But when I think of “war hero” I think of the guy that charged up the hill to bayonet the enemy firing the machine gun.

    What level is Obama’s character? That’s what I want to know.

  3. George Haberberger says:

    “But when I think of ‘war hero’ I think of the guy that charged up the hill to bayonet the enemy firing the machine gun.”

    You mean someone who brings a knife to a gun fight. By that definition a “war hero” is a dead guy.

    Normally being captured doesn’t make you a war hero unless you land in Colonel Klink’s camp run all kinds of secret operations with Hogan and the gang.

    In McCain’s case, his father was the admiral in charge of the naval forces of Southeast Asia. The NVA offered McCain an early release in light of his family connections. McCain refused the offer unless every POW who had been captured before him also was released. I cannot say that I would have been able to make that decision.

    “And considering he’s now old, rich, white and male, I don’t think he really deserves any more of our sympathy for it.”

    It hardly seems fair to disparage him for three of those attributes over which he has no practical control.

  4. Kathy says:

    At least one person has made this into a witty political marketing opportunity.

    http://www.redbubble.com/people/dennisculver/clothing/1549871-1-pro-obama-dungeons-and-dragons-crowd

  5. Kathy says:

    And I think what McCain went through in the war was unfortunate, but I fail to see where it imparted special skills and knowledge that would make him a better president.

    Elections should be based on the issues, the platform the candidate stands for. We put way too much stock in this amorphous moving target of “leadership quality”. If someone’s really good at leading me somewhere I don’t want to go, I’m not going to be very happy at the destination no matter how smooth the trip was.

  6. Kindralas says:

    “It hardly seems fair to disparage him for three of those attributes over which he has no practical control.”

    Well, he certainly has control over being rich. But putting that aside, my point was not that he had control over those factors, and that he would have chosen to be poor, black, and female otherwise, but considering the number of advantages afforded to his demographic, I could care less about him being a POW. There are people in our cities who live every day in conditions similar to his imprisonment, I would imagine some worse.

    While I don’t presume to know what he went through there, and his service was, indeed, exemplary, I refuse to place any human being above another. Him bringing up his war record constantly just comes across as “look at me” more than anything. He uses it as a touchstone to somehow prove he knows more about international politics than Obama.

    And yet, despite all of his press as being better at foreign policy, he’s shown the same kinds of ignorance of details that our current president has. He confused the Sunni and Shi’ite sects, when the United States is involved in a civil war in another country which is directly influenced by those two sects. He stated that Hamdan was guilty of supplying weapons to terrorists, when he was acquitted of those charges. After Bush, do we really want someone who doesn’t understand “ferners” again?

    Do these things mean he’ll make the wrong decisions in office? Not necessarily, no. But considering the fact that we went to at least one war with false information, I would like prospective leaders to at least have the details straight.

  7. George Haberberger says:

    The three attributes I referred to that he had no control over were, OLD, white and male.

    “I could care less about him being a POW. There are people in our cities who live every day in conditions similar to his imprisonment, I would imagine some worse.”

    Really? Worse than being a prisoner of war? Believe what you will, but I think you’re underestimating the horror of being at the mercy of the enemy and the fortitude it takes to survive it. Contrary to my previous post, it’s not like Hogans’s Heroes.

    I don’t know who said it but, “The first casualty of war is the truth.” We’ve gone to war over false information before. Check out the Gulf of Tonkin Resolution. Having the facts straight would only serve to better deny them.

    And although everyone says it, I believe you “couldn’t care less.”

  8. Kindralas says:

    I likewise think you underestimate the conditions in our cities. Nevertheless, you continue to deny the actual point behind what I’m saying. McCain uses his possible torture and definite confinement as a means of showing himself to have suffered more than his fellow American. In the meantime he’s doing and saying all of the same things that every politician does. Using his time as a prisoner of war to show that he somehow understands the pain of war in an effort to show that he’s ready to lead demeans the sacrifices of the men and women who have suffered far greater than he has. McCain came out of his experience unscathed, there are millions that did not. If his time as a POW makes him a capable leader, then why not the men and women who came back in wheelchairs? Wouldn’t they be better leaders because they suffered more?

    I’m simply saying that the man is not acting like being a POW affected him at all. He doesn’t seem to be treating the experience with the gravity of someone who has truly suffered, and he’s certainly showing an incredible lack of empathy toward those who are currently suffering in a war with, if possible, less justification and planning than the one he was in.

    In answer to your quotation, (which should be “the first casualty when war comes is truth,” since we’re straw-manning over grammar), you don’t think it’s a problem when Bush gets up there and says nook-you-ler? You don’t think that a person who can’t tell the simple difference between the beliefs of Iran and al-Qaeda is a poor candidate for dealing with a situation which involves both of those factions directly?

    I will be the first to say that I don’t think Obama is any better. They’re both politicians, and are therefore, by default, lying, two-faced sacks of expletives. But since politics is not choosing who is most fit to lead, but choosing between the lesser of two evils, I think it should be pretty obvious which is the lesser here.

    But it won’t matter. Our horrendous method of electing a president is as likely to result in McCain winning as Obama, in spite of what the public actually thinks.

Leave a Reply

