Quest completed!

I finally got Rock Band 2 today, on the day of release. Friday I went to a Target and they told me that it was a “Sunday Set” meaning they couldn’t sell it before today. I also went to a Wal-Mart and they said they didn’t have it yet, their ship dates were so close.

After some soul-searching, I decided that release dates and retailers who observe them are a good idea. If Sunday Chuck would not have been able to buy RB2 because they were all sold early to Friday Chuck, then Sunday Chuck would have been a Sad Panda.

We went back to the same Target, and they didn’t have any. We called a GameStop, and they said they were sold out. Heading for Best Buy, we passed a different Wal-Mart and game them an opportunity. They had the game! It wasn’t on the selling floor yet (why not? pushing the old ones?) but a guy got it from the back for us.

Do I like RB2 so far? Yep. I “had a moment” while playing Man in the Box, even if they did censor the lyrics (pit? spit?). Which is to say, I have this lizard hindbrain split-second that says HEY, I’M A REAL ROCK STAR! from the back of my brain, and the rest of my brain says, NO STUPID, IT’S NOT EVEN A REAL GUITAR! and then I get on with my life. But I like my moments.

One Response to Quest completed!

  1. Kathy says:

    One of the brackets on the new drum set is, of course, non-functional. That’s what I get for snickering at the “in the unlikely event that something is wrong with your hardware” sentence on the in-package flyer. Fuckers.

    Some part of me was screaming to just buy the game and buy new third-party accessories as our RB1 stuff wore out/broke/turned old and busted. I wish I’d listened to that impulse, because OMG RB is fun but their hardware is SO twitchy/busted out of the box.

Leave a Reply

