Wait, Wait… Don’t Tell Me!

That’s the name of a weekly NPR news trivia quiz program. “The oddly informative news quiz.” I’m sure all you public radio geeks have known about this for years, but I just happened to find it.

Each week, two million radio listeners test their knowledge against some of the best and brightest in the news and entertainment world: They try to figure out “Who’s Carl This Time?” They race against the clock on “Lightning Fill in the Blank.” On the “Not My Job!” segment of the show, they listen to a celebrity guest answer questions on a topic totally outside his or her area of expertise. The results have delighted legions of listeners for ten years and made Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me! a fan favorite with an ever expanding audience and a 2007 Peabody Award for excellence in radio broadcasting.

I’ve been enjoying it very much. They have a panel of humorists and often a special guest. Witty quips fly around like crazy. I like any show that can toss in the word “bacchanal” without blinking an eye.

5 Responses to Wait, Wait… Don’t Tell Me!

  1. Bpaul says:

    “I like any show that can toss in the word “bacchanal” without blinking an eye.”

    fancy-pants elitist

  2. George Haberberger says:

    I’ve listening to WWDTM for a couple of years. I always think how funny it is that the prize is “Carl Castle’s voice on your answering machine.” Wow. What a budget they must have.

    Don LaFontaine, who died recently, was the celebrity guest one time last year. He was known for his voice over work, specifically for movie previews.(“In a world… “) He had a rich, resonant voice. Anyway, he lost the quiz which meant the person he was playing for wouldn’t get Carl’s voice on their answering machine. When he was told that that was what the prize was there was a short pause and then he said, “Hey, I could do that!

  3. Doug W says:

    I love the show, and I think some of the best “not my job” guests have offered to do the answering machine when they lose. I think John Mellencamp offered that, but I recall at least two if not three who have done that, or said they would send them another prize.

    I’m not sure how many of my friends would know why Carl Kasell was on my answering machine.

  4. erika says:

    Carl Kasell does the BEST Britney Spears impression.

  5. Kindralas says:

    Wait, Wait is part of the reason I love my job, which affords me the chance to sit and listen to the radio for pretty much as long as I want. That, What Do You Know, Car Talk, and A Prairie Home Companion combined make working on Saturdays pretty easy for me.

Leave a Reply

