Happy new year!

From a post by George Burns about his favorite New Year’s Eve.

Eventually a voice was heard above all the rest suggesting, “Let George Burns sing a few songs.” And when they ignored that, I’d say it again, louder. Finally I would get up to sing and everyone would form a ring around the piano. I’d manage to fight my way past them and sing a few of my favorite songs. And when I finished, everyone was happy.

You should read the whole thing, it’s very funny and very George Burns. Happy New Year!

3 Responses to Happy new year!

  1. Brad says:

    I bet it would be more funny with the pauses. burns always paused at the right time.

  2. Shocho says:

    Yes! I had to kind of reread it and imagine him saying it to find all the funny. I’ve never seen anything written by him before.

  3. Jason says:

    I think that’s because he grew up before there was language.

Leave a Reply

