Remember, I’m older than you.

s118805When you tell me how much you like the song “American Pie” by Don McLean, you have to understand my point of view. I didn’t like that song when it was released in 1971. It was popular at the time (remember, there were no MP3 players or Walkmans, so radio was just about all you had to listen to) and played to death. It’s 38 years later, and this fucking song STILL GETS PLAYED.

While I am proud to be a member of the Baby Boom generation (albeit at the tail end), and happy to reap the many benfits of that, I hope for your sake that the music you listen to when you are 17 is not still being played when you are 54. Trust me, songs like this are torture for me. I’ve heard this song a few HUNDRED times more than you have, and I didn’t like it when I FIRST HEARD IT.

I have no way of communicating how this works to someone not of my generation, but let me tell you that when you say you are tired of hearing Classic Rock from the sixties and seventies, you can’t be anywhere near as tired of it as I am.

Now get off my lawn.

8 Responses to Remember, I’m older than you.

  1. darrell says:

    Every post should end with, “Now get off my lawn.”

  2. TMac says:

    Are you more tired of something because you’ve heard more then I have? Maybe I’m more tired of something because I’ve heard it as a higher percentage of my life. American Pie has been around 100% of my life, there’s never been a time when it wasn’t there. For you there are memories when there wasn’t an American Pie. I’m just saying.

  3. George Haberberger says:

    When I saw the album cover I thought you were going to reference the death of Buddy Holly which was 50 years ago today and is what American Pie is about.

    “It’s 38 years later, and this fucking song STILL GETS PLAYED.” Know what else still gets played? Beethoven’s Ninth. Mozart’s Figaro. Pachelbel’s Canon in D. Classics endure and American Pie is a classic.

    I’m a couple of years older than you and I like American Pie, I could probably sit down right now and write down all the lyrics. Now get off my lawn.

  4. Kindralas says:

    I think there’s a bit of a difference, though he probably framed it the wrong way. I have the same issue with Theory of a Saving Seetherback. For various reasons, The Point plays one of those stupid bands about 4 times an hour, and I’m sick of them.

    And the worst part is that I know that these are the bands that will survive from this generation of music, while millions will take a flyer on bands like Avenged Sevenfold because they’re more inaccessible.

    Catchy diddies are terrific, if you like them. If you don’t, they’re just a sharp, stabbing pain in the ear that no antibiotics can get rid of.

  5. George Haberberger says:

    “Catchy diddies are terrific, if you like them.”

    American Pie has a memorable melody but I think it is a bit extreme to label it as a catchy diddy. It tells a moving story with symbolism and metaphor. But you’re right, it is terrific.

    I’ve never heard of Theory of a Saving Seetherback or Avenged Sevenfold. Oh and get off my lawn.

  6. Kindralas says:

    I suppose a lot of music fans don’t really want to get very deep into music and find things that have more resonance than either classics that have become so classic as to be pop, or just straight pop-rock songs. Buckcherry fans especially bother me.

    But a friend of mine told me that he couldn’t understand how people could be fans of Nine Inch Nails, that what he does is art, but not music, and I kind of just stared at him dumbfounded. So much music, even in the classic rock catalogue, has become a kind of watered down variant on a few different themes, either artistically or musically, that bands like Nickelback and the dozens of bands that sound like them actually offend me.

    If I hear one more song about someone’s crazy girlfriend cheating on them, I’m going to shoot someone.

  7. Bishop says:

    Replace “American Pie” with “Stairway To Heaven” and I wholeheartedly endorse this blog post. I don’t hear American Pie (which at least had meaningful lyrics) nearly as often.

  8. Mkae says:

    I used to play “American Pie” as the “drunken sing-along song” when I had to New Year’s Eve airshifts. Listeners called up constantly requesting it and then called me and through a wet slur, thanked me profusely. None of them shot at me from their porch.

Leave a Reply

