I watched the Watchmen.

silk-spectre-nite-owl_426x435It was good. Better than I thought it would be. The ending was much better than the book. In fact, as I thumbed through the book looking for things left out, I found small moments done better in the film. You’d be suprised how little of the book did not make it to the screen.

All the parts were well-played. The pacing of the film was langorous and over-dramatic. I have to say that this unfilmable book was distilled very well for the screen. A fantastic story, well told.

Not one of my favorite movies, but I’m impressed with it and I certainly recommend it.

This review points out that the word “visionary” is being thrown around a lot about Zack Snyder, when really he’s just following the script.

The visionary sees what others do not see. Snyder — whose previous films were a remake (“Dawn of the Dead”) and another scrupulously faithful comic book adaptation (“300”) — is more in the line of a fancy photocopier, duplicating other artists’ imagery with a forger’s intensity.

2 Responses to I watched the Watchmen.

  1. Bpaul says:

    And lots of Film Weiner, which I think The Wife enjoyed.

    Don’t forget that. Very important.

    Bp

  2. George Haberberger says:

    I liked the movie quite a bit and want to see it again even before the inevitable DVD purchase. Of course it wasn’t as good as the book but it is as good a translation as is possible short of a 6-hour miniseries on HBO. Jackie Earle Haley as Rorshach steals the movie. I also liked Jeffrey Dean Morgan as The Comedian and Patrick Wilson surprised me by making Nite Owl someone other than a Batman doppelganger. He evoked a genuine humanity that contrasted nicely to Rorschach and Dr. Manhattan.

    I find it interesting that the majority of negative reviews it has received cite its “slavish devotion to the source material.” First of all, that would be a good thing. And second, there are changes from the source material so those critics don’t know what they’re talking about. I always have to remember that critics criticize, hence the name.

Leave a Reply

