Musical math.

jim-morrison-20060303-112961I believe I have posted before (but that doesn’t matter because, well, look at the name of the blog) about the math used in the pop singing group the Four Seasons.

Originally there was a group called the Four Seasons, which had four members, one of which was Frankie Valli. As Frankie became more famous, the group’s name was changed to “Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons.” Which of course is wrong, because it was really “Frankie Valli and the Three Seasons,” since he was one of the original four.

They could have said “The Four Seasons featuring Frankie Valli,” but I’m sure Frankie’s agent wouldn’t go for that. (Reportedly none of their records actually have the incorrect title on them, but that doesn’t stop me from complaining about it.)

This issue is the inspiration for my Rock Band called “Chaz Lambo and the New York Four.” Originally, the band was called just “New York Four” (I’m sure you know what that refers to) but then Chaz got famous and the band name got changed. His real name is Chuck Lombardo, which is also my Vegas name, but I digress.

Anyway (remember, I was going to call my blog “Anyway” so I can say it whenever I want, even if it’s a bad segue), there’s this song by the Doors. I dearly love the Doors. I wanted so badly to be Jim Morrison when I was 13. Or at least have his hair. He’s dead now and I’m not, so that worked out better for me than him.

Anyway, Jimbo wrote a song called “Five to One.” The lyrics begin: “Five to one, baby, one in five / No one here gets out alive.” Those of you who are good with math will note that “five to one” is not “one in five,” it’s “one in six.” This has always bothered me, but I’ve never said anything about it. Until now.

By the way, this is how you write when you’re getting paid by the word.

One Response to Musical math.

  1. Jason says:

    Yes, but did their lyrics ever translate into hyperdrive coordinates that lead them to Earth?

Leave a Reply

