Full disclosure.

gateway-lx6810-01-low-resLWC got a new computer for Mother’s Day — and it’s not a Macintosh. It’s a Gateway desktop with a 20-inch Lucky Goldstar flatscreen monitor. The HP laptops that we purchased a year ago to play PC games were a bad idea. The new machine has a smokin video card, which we need to play games. That’s what we do most on our computers.

For my birthday, I got one too. Now, our primary computers are PCs running Vista. I still hate the operating system and all the virus nonsense. However, it’s damned nice to have one computer that does nearly everything I want it to. That includes playing games of all kinds.

For those of you who thought we had drunk the Apple kool-aid, I guess after all these years its effects are wearing off. By the way, I hated the HPs which were loaded with shovelware; so much I couldn’t even find it all to take it off. The Gateway machines are delightfully free of such annoying things.

3 Responses to Full disclosure.

  1. Bpaul says:

    Although I have a sneaking suspicion I know what it is, define Shovelware please?

  2. Shocho says:

    When you buy an HP computer, they add for you, at no extra charge, about 1,208,399 programs called “HP This” and “HP That” which are triggered by nearly everything that happens, including breathing. None of them have any practical use, and it’s hard to track them all down and delete them.

    My cow (Gateway) was delightfully free of such things.

  3. Bpaul says:

    Thanks for the translation, sir.

Leave a Reply

