A love story.

She was at the stop sign before I arrived. Blonde hair, silver Eclipse. I was going to let her go first, but she was putting the top down on the convertible. I turned ahead.

At the next intersection, I pulled away smartly. She was just behind, and the Eclipse was passing me quickly. Honey blonde hair, wind swept, I couldn’t see her face. New York license. Fast. Impatient. Driven.

Two cars ahead of me at the traffic light. I caught glimpses of the silver car between other cars. Driving too fast, I couldn’t keep up.

Caught up again at the next light, but she was turning. Heading west. I stayed north, behaving, trying to forget. The light changed and I moved on. Nothing left but memories.

Leave a Reply

