A movie about ducts.

MPW-19401We have several of the Encore channels on our cable roster, and they show movies without commercial interruption. Occasionally, I catch a flick that I’ve been wanting to see for a long time. Like Brazil.

The movie has some genuinely funny moments and amazing visuals. I kept watching to see how close it would come to the line of clarity. As I expected, there were occasional close calls but these were quickly obliterated by the next scene. Which usually involved black-garbed security officers breaking through a wall in true Python fashion.

The movie seems to me to be about ducts. The commercial at the very beginning for beautification of your home ductwork seems out of place, but by the end of the movie it seems not only appropriate but somehow prophetic.

I understand that many people think this movie is wonderful. I am not one of them. I can say that the musical score was lush and delightful.

Was this the first “retro-futurism” or “sci-fi noir” movie? 1985 was a long time ago. Perhaps it is more groundbreaking, at least visually, than I give it credit for.

Leave a Reply

