Windows 7 is coming in October, right?

VistaMy computer was turned off. I turned on my computer and it said “installing updates.” It tried for 90 minutes to do this. Then it said the updates failed.  Restoring the previous version took another 25 minutes. That’s 1 hour and 55 minutes of downtime before I could even open email.

How much time is wasted with Vista inefficiency around the world? How many people spend minutes or hours while the operating system churns and churns doing nothing? How much is Western civilization prevented from advancing by a lousy Windows operating system?

There’ll be another one soon. It’s hard for me to hope it will be better.

4 Responses to Windows 7 is coming in October, right?

  1. George Haberberger says:

    You used to know better Go back to Mac.

  2. Kathy says:

    I don’t waste any time with it. I have automatic updates turned off. Occasionally, I see if any of the updates listed seems relevant, and I install only those.

  3. Shocho says:

    I still have my Mac, George, but I bought a PC so I could play games. Or do updates.

  4. George Haberberger says:

    If you bought a PC to play games, why are you checking your email on it?

    I updated my Mac to Snow Leopard last night. The installation took about an hour. Then when I opened email I got a message that the Mail program would need to update to take advantage of the new features. I could click OK or do it later. I had a bit of trepidation remembering your experience but I clicked OK anyway. The progress bar came up and zipped through in approximately 3 seconds.

Leave a Reply

