Was there ever a good prequel?

Recently, I discovered that many sequels are actually good movies. Now I’m wondering if there are any prequels that are worth watching. Backstory, as a rule, should stay as backstory. There’s a reason why it’s not included in the main story.

Besides, we all know what’s going to happen because the original flick is already cast in stone. Gee, will Anakin kill Obi-Wan on Mustafar? Oh, I suppose not.

Here’s a list of prequels that might be actually good. Bigger list here, if you think I’ve missed some.

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly – a terrific movie, but I didn’t know it’s a prequel.

Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom – oh yeah, that is a prequel!

My list only has two movies. I guess prequels really do, for the most part, suck.

5 Responses to Was there ever a good prequel?

  1. Jason W says:

    Does the recent Star Trek movie count? It’s sorta a prequel and it was pretty good.

  2. George Haberberger says:

    Chuck,
    Is the grayed-out indented text your text or is it linked from somewhere else?
    The link take me to Wikipedia and that text isn’t there.
    I always thought The Good, The Bad and The Ugly was a prequel because in Fistful of Dollars and A Few Dollars More, Eastwood didn’t have the poncho. In the G,B&U there is a scene where he comes across a dying soldier. He gives him a few puffs on his cigar. When the soldier dies he takes the poncho he was wearing. So the the G,B&U is the origin story of the Man With No Name’s poncho.

  3. Shocho says:

    Yes, you’re right about TGTBATU, that is where Clint got his outfit, so it is technically a prequel.

    Temple of Doom is a prequel only because they didn’t want Indy fighting Nazis again.

    The Star Trek flick from this year is more of a reboot than a prequel, I think. I didn’t like it much anywho.

  4. George Haberberger says:

    You know I just reread my post and I made a typo that makes the post completely wrong. I meant to type that in Fistful of Dollars and A Few Dollars More Eastwood DID have the poncho. In The Good, the Bad and the Ugly we see how he got it which makes TGTBATU a prequel.

  5. Paladon says:

    It missed Red Dragon which was a prequel to Silence of the Lambs (and I thought it was pretty good). Also, I’m kind of disturbed there is a new movie coming out that is a prequel to The Thing. They shouldn’t mess with perfection.

Leave a Reply

