Earth Day, 1970.

In 1970 I was a sophomore in high school. I participated in the first Earth Day event. A team made up of me and several friends walked about a mile of Interstate 70 in St. Louis.

We picked up trash and put it into 30-gallon plastic bags. I remember nearly filling a bag with cigarette butts. That experience certainly taught me to never throw trash out the window of my car again.

You have certainly seen the way that crap builds up along the curbs of any city. You should walk a mile along an interstate sometime. It’s unbelievable what people throw out the windows of their cars.

Be nice to the Earth. Maybe we’ll get less earthquakes. I think she’s angry.

Leave a Reply

